Category Archives: DWI DUI
Cars, Trucks, And Boats? What Counts As A “Motor Vehicle” In Pearland Under Texas DWI/DUI Criminal Laws?
Most people in Texas, and throughout the United States and probably the world, know that drugs and alcohol and driving a motor vehicle just do not mix. The risks of driving while under the influence of alcohol, cocaine, marijuana, or other drugs is obviously a recipe for disaster, since motor vehicles are heavy machines… Read More »
Pro Se, Public Defender, Or Private Lawyer? Who Should Represent Me In My Pearland DWI/DUI Case?
When a person goes out for a fun time out on the town, a dinner date, or a rowdy sports game, they rarely anticipate that their night will end in criminal charges. However, when a person has had too many drinks and their ability to drive is impaired after a night’s festivities, the reality… Read More »
Financial Implications Of A DWI Conviction In Texas
Driving While Intoxicated in Texas is an offense taken seriously by law enforcement and prosecutors. Section 49.04 of the Texas Penal Code makes it a crime to be “intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.” Whether it is a first offense or a repeat offense, the criminal penalties can be strict… Read More »
Career Consequences Of A DWI Conviction In Texas
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas is a serious crime with equally serious penalties. Punishment for even a first offense includes jail time, fines, and driver’s license suspension. Under Texas law, if a person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place, they can be subject to arrest and prosecution. Once… Read More »
What Prosecutors Must Prove In A DWI Case, And How To Defend Yourself Against DWI Charges
Driving While Intoxicated in Texas is a serious offense that law enforcement and prosecutors do not take lightly. They will push aggressively for the maximum possible penalties available, based on the circumstances. Penalties can include jail time (up to 25 years in the most serious cases), and thousands of dollars in fines. Other consequences… Read More »
How Do Texas “Open Container” Laws Work?
Perhaps one of the most misunderstood areas of Texas criminal law is the prohibition on “open containers” of alcohol in vehicles. Some people mistakenly believe it is okay to have an open container in their vehicle as long as they are not the driver or their car is actually running. There has also been… Read More »
Can A Lane Change Lead To A Felony Drunk Driving Conviction?
Drunk driving arrests rarely start out that way. The more typical scenario is that a police officer initiates a “routine” traffic stop after observing a possible infraction. During the stop, the officer then develops a suspicion the driver may be drunk, which may lead to probable cause justifying an arrest. This entire chain of… Read More »
How Your Car Can Be Considered A “Deadly Weapon” Under Texas Criminal Law
Criminal assault covers a much broader range of conduct than most people realize. Sure, if you walk up to someone and punch them in the face, that is clearly assault. But assault does not require that you make physical contact with the victim. Instead, Texas law defines the crime as including “intentionally or knowingly”… Read More »
What Happens If I Refuse A Breathalyzer Test?
A driver is considered legally intoxicated in Texas if their blood-alcohol content (BAC) is measured at 0.08 percent or greater. When police make a DWI arrest, they will typically ask the suspect to take a chemical test–such as a Breathalyzer–to establish their precise BAC. So what happens if you simply refuse to take the… Read More »
Does DWI Require Proof Of Your Exact BAC At The Time Of Arrest?
Under Texas law, a person is legally too drunk to drive if their blood-alcohol content (BAC) is at least 0.08 percent. Police and prosecutors often rely on breath or blood analysis to establish a defendant’s BAC. Of course, such tests typically measure a defendant’s BAC sometime after they are actually placed under arrest. Does… Read More »