Close Menu

Pearland Uninsured Motorist Lawyer

Jackson & Pearland Lawyer > Pearland Uninsured Motorist Lawyer

Pearland Uninsured Motorist Lawyer

If you have even been involved in a minor auto accident, you probably know the first step is to stop and exchange contact and insurance information with the other driver. Every driver in Texas is required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance, which includes liability coverage in the event the policyholder is found responsible for causing an accident.

Of course, these minimums are often insufficient to cover damages arising from a serious accident. And despite the legal mandate, there are many people operating vehicles in Texas who do not even bother to carry the minimum amount of insurance. In either of these scenarios, an accident victim may be able to turn to their own insurance carrier for coverage. A Pearland uninsured motorist lawyer can advise you further on this subject. Attorney Keith B. French is an experienced Texas personal injury attorney who has helped many clients in asserting their rights under an auto insurance policy.

How Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Works in Texas

Texas law requires all auto insurance companies to offer “uninsured/underinsured motorist” (UM/UIM) coverage as part of their standard policies. This coverage is technically optional. As the policyholder, you may decline to purchase UM/UIM coverage, although you must do so in writing.

But it is generally a good idea to always purchase some UM/UIM coverage. The reason for this is simple. If you are injured in an accident and the other driver lacks sufficient coverage to compensate you, then your own UM/UIM carrier must “step into the shoes” of the uninsured or underinsured driver and compensate you up to the limits of your policy. UM/UIM coverage also applies when the negligent driver is unknown or never identified, as is often the case in a hit-and-run accident.

It is important to note that most UM/UIM policies are only for the same amount of minimum liability coverage that most Texas drivers are required to carry. These minimums are $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. You can, however, purchase additional UM/UIM coverage.

Contact Keith B. French Law Today

You might wonder why you would need to speak with an attorney if you plan to seek coverage under your own UM/UIM policy. The reality is that insurance companies will often deny or attempt to limit liability under such policies. Remember, the insurance company is there to make money for its shareholders, which means paying out as little as possible to policyholders. Having an attorney means someone will be looking out solely for your interests.

There are also many auto accidents where someone other than the uninsured driver may be at-fault. For example, if the driver was acting on behalf of an employer at the time of the crash, that employer may be vicariously liable. An attorney can conduct a full investigation into your accident and ensure all potentially liable parties are identified.

So if you have been injured in an accident and need to speak with a Pearland uninsured motorist lawyer, contact Keith B. French Law, PLLC, today to schedule a free consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2021 - 2024 Keith B. French Law, PLLC. All rights reserved.
Powered by Matador Solutions