Car Accident Lawyer
A car accident often leaves people shaken up but otherwise unharmed. Unfortunately, there are too many cases where an accident does cause serious–even fatal–injuries to innocent people. And that is generally when the legal system needs to step in and help provide compensation.
The last thing that most accident victims want to think about is filing a lawsuit. But as your costs start to mount following a crash–medical bills, lost income, repairing your car–you realize that you need help. And if a negligent driver was responsible for your accident, you have a right to demand appropriate compensation. Lawyer Keith B. French can help. He is an experienced Texas personal injury litigator who knows how to advocate for clients and obtain significant financial results on their behalf.
The Importance of Fault in a Texas Auto Accident Case
Texas is what is considered a “fault” state when it comes to auto accidents. This means that you are not required to seek coverage for an accident from your own auto insurer first, as you would be in a no-fault state. So a negligent driver can be held 100 percent responsible for any losses that you suffer in a car accident.
Of course, your own insurance company may still play a role. Many Texas drivers often carry just the bare minimum of coverage required by law. This is frequently far too little to fully compensate an accident victim, especially if they require extensive medical care. In such situations, your own insurance company may be liable for any excess damages if you have uninsured motorist coverage.
It is also important to keep in mind that even if you know the other driver was at-fault for your accident, they may not be so willing to admit liability upfront. Texas also follows a “modified comparative fault” rule in personal injury cases. What this means is that the other driver can try to argue that you were partly–or even completely–to blame for causing the accident. If your case goes to trial, a jury will then allocate fault between all parties based on percentages. Your total compensation would then be reduced to account for your percentage of fault. (And under Texas’ modified rule, you take nothing if you are more than 50 percent responsible.)
Contact Keith B. French Law Today
Texas has a two-year statute of limitations in personal injury cases. This generally means that you have two years from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit against the negligent parties. This might sound like a lot of time, but in practice there are a number of things that need to be done before a case can be filed. This includes investigating all of the potential defendants and negotiating a possible settlement with an insurance company.
A skilled Pearland car accident lawyer can assist you throughout this process. So if you have been injured in an accident and need advice on what steps to take next to secure your rights under the law, contact the Law Office of Keith B. French, PLLC, today to schedule a free initial consultation.